Disney’s Frozen Party – Snowball Cookies

Today I made a family favorite for our Super Bowl party: Mexican Wedding Cookies.  I’ve been making these for years, and have even made nearly 400 of them a couple years ago for my brother’s wedding.  They are small, delectable little treats that leave a trail of powdered sugar on those who partake in the goodness.  Once I stacked them in a bowl for the party, I remembered how much they resemble snowballs.  So, I paired them with the “Frozen Snowflake Snacks” from my last post and created a tower of Frozen-inspired treats.

February 2014 - Snowball Cookies

Mexican Wedding Cookies are simple to make, only require a few ingredients, are ready in about 30 minutes, and can entertain children who like to shake the baggie of sugar to coat them once baked.  Below is my recipe.

INGREDIENTS:

1 cup butter (softened)

1 cup confectioners sugar

2 cups all-purpose flour

2 cups pecans

1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract

1/2 teaspoon almond extract

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1 1/2 cups confectioners sugar for coating

DIRECTIONS:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

2. Mix all ingredients using an electric mixer until a dough ball forms.

3. Bake 10-12 minutes.

4. Let cool for approximately 15 minutes.

5. Add 1 1/2 cups confectioners to a gallon bag.  Drop the warm cookies into the bag, seal, and shake to coat.

6. Open the bag, shake off the excess sugar, and serve.  Store in an airtight container for up to 7 days.

Leave a comment